Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, National Board Of Review Awards Gala

Dimitrios Kambouris/FilmMagic

No wolves of Wall Street here. Just a couple of kings of Manhattan.

Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese added yet another momentous moment to their collaborative history Tuesday night when they were honored at the 2014 National Board of Review Awards gala at Cipriani 42nd Street.

The actor and director, who have now worked together five times, received the Spotlight Award in recognition of what they've accomplished together, not least of which being The Wolf of Wall Street, which is nominated for two Golden Globes—and which garnered Scorsese his 11th Directors Guild of America Award nomination earlier today.

DiCaprio has also starred in the Scorsese-directed Gangs of New York, The Aviator, Shutter Island and The Departed, which won the Oscar for best picture in 2007.

Leonardo DiCaprio, Wolf of Wall Street


In an interview with Variety, when asked about Wolf's no-holds-barred portrayal of his stock broker character's debauched behavior, DiCaprio explained that people were misunderstanding the film if they thought the intent was to glamorize that behavior.

"I think it's amazing somebody like Martin Scorsese is still making films that are vital and talked about, and have an element of controversy about them and are appealing to people of my generation," he said. "We grew up watching his films and he's still making stuff that's punk rock. It's an amazing achievement."

"There are two films I've been passionate about making, this and The Aviator," DiCaprio also said. "To get to work with Marty at this point in his career and to make a movie that takes a lot of chances."

The National Board of Review had previously awarded best film of the year honors, meanwhile, to Spike Jonez' Her, about a man (Joaquin Phoenix) in a slightly futuristic version of our current world who falls in love with his personal digital assistant, voiced by Scarlett Johansson.

Emma Thompson

Jamie McCarthy/WireImage

Also in the A-list mix tonight was a radiant Jessica Chastain, a winner last year for Zero Dark ThirtyMeryl StreepEmma Thompson, this year's pick for best actress for Saving Mr. BanksOctavia Spencer, best supporting actress for Fruitvale StationBruce Dern, winner for best actor for Nebraska; his costar Will Forte, this year's best supporting actor; Berenice BejoMaria BelloSteve BuscemiMike MyersEdie FalcoPaul Dano; and Lea Seydoux and Adele Exarchopoulos from the French-language Blue Is the Warmest Color.

Meryl Streep

Dimitrios Kambouris/FilmMagic

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share