Survivor: Edge of Extinction


They can outwit. They can outplay. They can outlast. But can they overspend? 

There are many reasons go on Survivor these days: they want to test their limits, they're a super-fan who has grown up watching the show, they want to meet new people and expand their world, they want to be on tv...and they might just want to earn $1 million in 39 days. 

The CBS reality juggernaut is set to crown the Sole Survivor of its 38th season on Wednesday, May 15, with Rick Devens, Victoria Baamonde, Julie Rosenberg, Gavin Whitson and Lauren O'Connell all still in the running, along with a TBD returning player from the Edge of Extinction

While viewers have yet to learn which of these castaways will join the elite group of Survivor winners and as they wait for Jeff Probst to read the jury's final votes, we thought it'd be nice to take a quick trip down memory lane and check in with all of the past winners to see how they decided to spend their hard-earned $1 million grand prize. 

There are a few cautionary tales (Here's looking at you, OG Survivor winner Richard Hatch!), many smart saver, a lot of charitable causes and some serious spenders...

Richard Hatch, Survivor


Tina Wesson

Gregg DeGuire/WireImage

Vecepia Towery

Theo Wargo/WireImage

Ethan Zohn

Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images

Brian Heidik

Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

Jenna Morasca, Survivor: The Amazon


Sandra Diaz-Twine

Robert Voets/CBS via Getty Images

Rob Mariano, Amber Brkich

Chris Polk/FilmMagic

Chris Daugherty

Mark Mainz/Getty Images

Tom Westman

Bill Inoshita/CBS Photo Archive/Getty Images

Danni Boatwright

Monty Brinton/CBS Photo Archive/Getty Images

Aras Baskauskas

Bennett Raglin/WireImage

Yul Kwon

Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images

Earl Cole

Jason Kempin/FilmMagic

Todd Herzog

Steven A. Henry/Getty Images

Parvati Shallow

Joe Kohen/WireImage

Bob Crowley

Jean Baptiste Lacroix/WireImage

James Thomas Jr

Jemal Countess/Getty Images

Judson "Jud" Birza

Monty Brinton/CBS via Getty Images

Sophie Clarke

Mark Davis/Getty Images

Kim Spradlin

Jim Spellman/WireImage

Denise Stapley, Survivor: Phillipines

Monty Brinton/CBS

John Cochran

Monty Brinton/CBS via Getty Images

Tyson Apostol

Monty Brinton/CBS via Getty Images

Tony Vlachos

Timothy Kuratek/CBS via Getty Images

Survivor, Missy Payne, Jaclyn Schultz, Baylor Wilson, Keith Nale, Natalie Anderson


Mike Holloway

Robert Voets/CBS via Getty Images

Jeremy Collins

Monty Brinton/CBS via Getty Images

Michele Fitzgerald

Monty Brinton/CBS via Getty Images

Adam Klein

Monty Brinton/CBS via Getty Images

Sarah Lacina

Monty Brinton/CBS via Getty Images

Ben Driebergen

Paul Archuleta/Getty Images

Wendell Holland, Survivor


Nick Wilson

CBS via Getty Images

Survivor crowns its 38th winner Wednesday, May 15, at 8 p.m. on CBS.

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.