Ugly Betty is sitting pretty when it comes to accolades.

The ABC comedy was the big winner at the 22nd Annual Imagen Awards, which recognizes movies and television shows offering a positive portrayal of the Hispanic community.

Ugly Betty was named Best Primetime Series, and its 23-year-old star, America Ferrera, Best TV Actress.

The actress, who's up for an Emmy for her breakout performance on Betty, also picked up Imagen Foundation's Creative Achievement Award.  Ana Ortiz, who plays Betty's older sister, Hilda, claimed Best Supporting Actress, which will be a nifty bookend to the American Latino Media Arts Award Outstanding Supporting Actress prize she won earlier this year.

Other TV winners included Miguel Ferrer (son of Hollywood star Jose Ferrer and singer Rosemary Clooney, and cousin of George Clooney), who earned Best Actor for his role in NBC's Crossing Jordan.

ABC's Dancing with the Stars, whose third season featured Mario Lopez, twirled its way to a trophy for Best Variety or Reality Show.

On the big screen, Imagen singled out Guillermo Del Toro's acclaimed surrealist film Pan's Labyrinth, about a young girl who seeks solace in fairy tales to survive life in fascist Spain.

Pan's Labyrinth was awarded Best Picture, Mexican-born helmer Del Toro received Best Director and handing Best Actress to his 13-year-old leading lady Ivana Baquero.

What was believed to be Pan's chief rival at this year's awards, Alejandro Înárritu's drama, Babel, failed to cash in on any of its four nominations.

Instead, Mel Gibson's Mayan action flick Apocalypto had a surprisingly strong showing, with Gerardo Teracena and Dalia Hernandez sweeping the supporting races.

More than 2,000 guests attended the Saturday ceremony, which was held at the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles.

The complete list of winners:


  • Best Picture: Pan's Labyrinth
  • Best Actor: Kuno Becker, Goal
  • Best Actress: Ivana Baquero, Pan's Labyrinth
  • Best Supporting Actor: Gerardo Teracena, Apocalypto
  • Best Supporting Actress: Dalia Hernandez, Apocalypto
  • Best Director: Guillermo del Toro, Pan's Labyrinth
  • Best Theatrical Short or Student Film: La Primavera Communion
  • Best Theatrical Production: Macho Men & The Women Who Love Them
  • Best Documentary: Lalo Guerrero, The Original Chicano


  • Best Prime-time Series: Ugly Betty
  • Best Actor: Miguel Ferrer, Crossing Jordan
  • Best Actress: America Ferrera, Ugly Betty
  • Best Supporting Actor: Jose Yenque, Between
  • Best Supporting Actress: Ana Ortiz, Ugly Betty
  • Best Variety or Reality Show: Dancing With The Stars
  • Best Children's Programming: Dora the Explorer
  • Best Local Informational Programming: Life and Times
  • Best National Informational Programming: Voces
  • Best On-Air Advertising: Splenda: Mama Yo Quiero New


  • Creative Achievement Award: America Ferrera
  • Norman Lear Writer's Award: Cynthia Cidre, writer of the upcoming CBS series Cane
  • President's Award: Disney-ABC Television Group
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Walter Ulloa, chairman and CEO of Entravision Communications Corp.
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share