Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave

Fox Searchlight Pictures

The Producers Guild of America couldn't decide between Gravity and 12 Years a Slave when it came to doling out the top honor at its awards show Sunday night.

The two drama flicks tied for the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures at the Producers Guild Awards, which generally sets the tone for the Oscars.

Gravity and 12 Years a Slave not only beat out frontrunner American Hustle at the event, but the tie also made the lead-up to the Academy Awards a little more interesting, considering the PGAs Best Picture has been the same as the Oscars' Best Picture winner for the last six years.

This was also the first tie the PGAs have ever had in it's 25-year history.

Sandra Bullock, Gravity

2013 Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

On the TV side, Breaking Bad also won big, taking home the Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama, while Modern Family took home Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy for the fourth year in a row.

Meanwhile, Behind the Candelabra won for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television, The Voice took home Outstanding Producer of Competition Television and Frozen won Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures.

Brad Pitt, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Benedict Cumberbatch, Robert Downey Jr.., Jared Leto, Sarah Paulson, Lupita Nyong'o, Chiwetel Ejiofor and many more stars were on hand to celebrate the top producers' accomplishments at the awards show.

Check out the full list of winners here!

Chiwetel Ejiofor, Brad Pitt, Steve McQueen

Steve Granitz/WireImage



12 Years a Slave
Producers: Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt and Dede Gardner

Producers: Alfonso Cuarón, David Heyman

Animated Feature:
Producer: Peter Del Vecho

We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks
Producers: Alexis Bloom, Alex Gibney, Marc Shmuger


TV Movie or Mini-Series:
Behind the Candelabra (HBO)
Producers: Susan Ekins, Gregory Jacobs, Michael Polaire, Jerry Weintraub

TV Drama:

Breaking Bad (AMC)
Producers: Melissa Bernstein, Sam Catlin, Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Mark Johnson, Stewart Lyons, Michelle MacLaren, George Mastras, Diane Mercer, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

TV Comedy:
Modern Family (ABC)
Producers: Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Elaine Ko, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeffrey Morton, Dan O'Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

Non-Fiction TV:
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (CNN)
Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig

Live Entertainment & Talk:
The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)
Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen T. Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart

Competition TV:
The Voice (NBC)
Producers: Stijn Bakkers, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Chad Hines, Lee Metzger, Audrey Morrissey, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Nicolle Yaron, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker

SportsCenter (ESPN)

Children's TV:
Sesame Street (PBS)

Web Series:
Wired: What's Inside (

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.