Lady Antebellum, Blake Shelton


And the countdown to the 2013 Academy of Country Music Awards has officially begun!

Early winners for the ACM Awards, including special award recipients, industry awards, MBI awards and Songwriter of the Year winners, were announced today. These initial accolades will not be televised during the 48th annual broadcast due to time constraints.

Cohosted by Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan, the ACM Awards will be telecast live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on April 7 at 8 p.m. on CBS.

Early winners not featured in the program will be celebrated at the 7th Annual ACM  Honors event on Sept. 10 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. Here's a complete list of current honorees:  

Special Awards

Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award (honoring recording pioneers in the country music genre): Keith Whitley and The Judds

Crystal Milestone Award (given to an artist or industry leader to commemorate an outstanding achievement): Jason Aldean

Gene Weed Special Achievement Award (honoring outstanding individual achievement in country music): Blake Shelton

Jim Reeves International Award (honoring an artist for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music around the world): Lady Antebellum

Mae Boren Axton Award (honoring years of service to the Academy of Country Music): Tommy Wiggins

Poet's Award: (honoring songwriters for musical or lyrical contributions to country music): Guy Clark and Hank Williams 

Industry Awards

Casino of the Year: Red Rock Casino & Resort, Las Vegas, NV

Nightclub of the Year: Joe's Bar, Chicago, IL

Venue of the Year: Ryman Auditorium, Nashville, TN

Don Romeo Talent Buyer of the Year: Jerry Hufford, Buck Owens' Crystal Palace

Promoter of the Year: Ed Warm, Joe's Bar

MBI (Musician, Bandleader, Instrumentalist) Awards

Producer of the Year: Jay Joyce

Audio Engineer of the Year: Chuck Ainlay

Bass Player of the Year: Jimmie Lee Sloas

Percussionist/Drummer of the Year: Matt Chamberlain

Fiddle Player of the Year: Aubrey Haynie

Guitarist of the Year: J.T. Corenflos

Piano/Keyboards Player of the Year: Michael Rojas

Specialty Instrument(s) Player of the Year: Ilya Toshinsky

Steel Guitar Player of the Year: Mike Johnson

Songwriter of the Year

Dallas Davidson 

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share