Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook

JOJO WHILDEN/The Weinstein Company

Well, whaddya know? Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper being a little cray-cray and then falling in love after learning an interesting dance routine together is pretty good story.  

David O. Russell's Silver Linings Playbook was the top winner at the 17th annual Satellite Awards on Sunday at the Intercontinental Hotel in Beverly Hills, taking home five awards, including best motion picture, best director, best actor and best actress.

Anne Hathaway was named best supporting actress for her role in Les Misérables, which also won best song and best sound. Javier Bardem nabbed the best supporting actor award for Skyfall.

Mark Boal's Zero Dark Thirty was named best original screenplay. And David Magee's adaptation of Life of Pi was named best adapted screenplay.

Top TV winners include Homeland and The Big Bang Theory, which claimed three awards each, with best drama series and best comedy series respectively, and Claire Danes and Damien Lewis, and Kaley Cuoco and Johnny Galecki winning best drama actress/actor and best comedy actress/actor respectively.

Here is the complete winner's list for the 2012 Satellite Awards:

Motion Picture: Silver Linings Playbook
Actress in a Motion Picture: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Actor in a Motion Picture: Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
Actress in a Supporting Role: Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables
Actor in a Supporting Role: Javier Bardem, Skyfall
Director: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Motion Picture, International Film: The Intouchables, Pieta (tie)
Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media: Rise of the Guardians
Motion Picture, Documentary: Chasing Ice
Original Screenplay: Mark Boal, Zero Dark Thirty
Adapted Screenplay: David Magee, Life of Pi
Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Life Of Pi
Best Production Design: Rick Carter, Curt Beech, David Crank, Leslie McDonald, Lincoln
Best Costume Design: Manon Rasmussen, A Royal Affair
Best Film Editing: Jay Cassidy, Silver Linings Playbook
Best Original Score: Alexandre Desplat, Argo
Best Original Song: "Suddenly," Les Misérables
Best Visual Effects: Flight

Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television: Hatfields & McCoys
Best Actress in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television:
 Julianne Moore, Game Change
Best Actor in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television:
 Benedict Cumberbatch, Sherlock
Best Supporting Actress in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television:
 Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey
Best Supporting Actor in a Miniseries/Motion Picture Made for Television:
 Neal McDonough, Justified
Best Drama: Homeland 
Best Actress in a Drama Series:
 Claire Danes, Homeland
Best Actor in a Drama Series:
 Damian Lewis, Homeland
Best Genre: Walking Dead 
Best Comedy: The Big Bang Theory
Best Actress in a Comedy Series: Kaley Cuoco, The Big Bang Theory
Best Actor in a Comedy Series: Johnny Galecki, The Big Bang Theory

Outstanding Contribution to the Entertainment Industry: Terence Stamp
Nikola Tesla Award: Walter Murch
Auteur Award: Paul Williams
Honorary Satellite Award: Bruce Davison
Newcomer Award: Quvenzhane Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Humanitarian Award: Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.