Denzel Washington

SAV/GC Images

Denzel Washington will be the man of the hour at the 2016 Golden Globe Awards!

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association announced today that the beloved actor will be honored with the coveted Cecil B. DeMille Award at the upcoming awards show, which will be hosted by Ricky Gervais.

Lorenzo Soria, the President of the HFPA, revealed the exciting news via press release and said, "Washington's long and storied career is earmarked by his countless roles in front and behind the camera. It is the HFPA's privilege to honor his contributions to the entertainment industry with the Cecil B. DeMille Award."

The award is chosen by the HFPA Board of Directors and was given to George Clooney last year.

Other past recipients of the top honor have been Woody Allen, Jodie Foster, Morgan Freeman, Robert De Niro, Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg, Warren Beatty, Anthony Hopkins, Robin Williams, Michael Douglas, Al Pacino, Harrison Ford and Barbara Streisand.

So, it's safe to say that's not bad company to be in!

Over the course of Washington's lengthy career, he has earned seven Golden Globe Award nominations and two wins. He's also won two Academy Awards, two Emmy nominations, one Tony Award, one BAFTA Award, one NAACP Image Award and a Grammy.

The 2016 Golden Globe Awards will air live on Jan. 10, 2016 on NBC.

(E! and NBC are both part of the same NBCUniversal family.)

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share