Ashton Sanders, Moonlight

David Bornfriend

The 2017 Independent Spirit Awards nominations, which specifically recognize the work of independent filmmakers and their cinematic accomplishments, were announced Tuesday in L.A.

"The Spirit Awards Filmmaker Grants enable us to not only recognize great work but also to provide much needed direct financial support to filmmakers," Joe Welsh said. "We're so appreciative of our grant funders, Kiehl's Since 1851 and Piaget. Through their funding of the Producers Award, Piaget has been a steadfast supporter of film artists for the last decade."

The Spirit Awards Nominating Committees selected this year's nominees from 382 film submissions. IFC will broadcast the annual awards show live on Feb. 25, 2017, at 5 p.m. ET.

Here is the complete list of nominees:

Best Feature

American Honey
Manchester by the Sea

Best Director

Andrea Arnold, American Honey
Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
Pablo Larrain, Jackie
Kelly Reichardt, Certain Women
Jeff Nichols, Loving

Lucas Hedges, Casey Affleck, Manchester By the Sea

Amazon Studios

Best Screenplay

Manchester by the Sea
20th Century Women
Little Men
Hell or High Water

Best First Feature

The Childhood of a Leader
The Fits
Other People
Swiss Army Man
The Witch

Best First Screenplay

The Witch
Other People
Jean of the Joneses

Best Male Lead

Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
David Harewood, Free in Deed
Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
Jesse Plemons, Other People
Tim Roth, Chronic

Joel Edgerton, Ruth Negga, Loving

Focus Features

Best Female Lead

Annette Bening, 20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert, Elle
Sasha Lane, American Honey
Ruth Negga, Loving
Natalie Portman, Jackie

Best Supporting Male

Ralph Fiennes, A Bigger Splash
Ben Foster, Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea
Shia LaBeouf, American Honey
Craig Robinson, Morris From America

Best Supporting Female

Edwina Findley, Free in Deed
Paulina Garcia, Little Men
Lily Gladstone, Certain Women
Riley Keough, American Honey
Molly Shannon, Other People

Best Documentary

I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made in America
Under the Sun

Other People, Jesse Plemons, Molly Shannon

Best International Film

My Golden Days
Toni Erdmann
Under the Shadow

Best Cinematography

Free in Deed
Eyes of My Mother
American Honey

Best Editing

Swiss Army Man
Manchester by the Sea
Hell or High Water

John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)

Free in Deed
Hunter Gatherer
Spa Night

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)


Piaget Producers Award

Lisa Kjerulff
Jordana Mollick
Melody C. Roscher
Craig Shilowich

Someone to Watch Award

Andrew Ahn, Spa Night
Claire Carre, Embers
Anna Rose Holmer, The Fits
Ingrid Jungermann, Women Who Kill

Truer Than Fiction Award

Kristi Jacobson, Solitary
Sara Jordenö, Kiki
Nanfu Wang, Hooligan Sparrow

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.