Janet Jackson, Unbreakable


New Janet Jackson music is just 29 days away!

To the delight of fans everywhere, the singer announced Thursday that her eleventh studio album—her first in seven years—will be titled Unbreakable. In addition to revealing the cover art, Jackson also said it will be released on Oct. 2.

"I've been listening... Here you go. Enjoy!" she tweeted. "Love, Janet."

Jackson once again worked with her longtime producers, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, for her latest project. "It's wonderful to be creating again with Janet. From songwriting, producing, arranging, singing, dancing, acting, she deftly does it all and truly personifies the word artist. Unbreakable is a gift to all of her fans who have steadfastly stood by her. It is a subject for conversation, a plea for compassion, and a call for action from someone who's come a long way, but's got a long way to go, and has much to say about it," they said in a statement Thursday. "In other words, if you want to know what's on her mind you only have to listen."

To support the album, Jackson kicked off her Unbreakable World Tour in Vancouver Monday; to date, 68 stops have been announced. The five-time Grammy Award winner's new album follows 2008's Discipline; 2006's 20 Y.O.; 2004's Damita Jo; 2001's All for You; 1997's The Velvet Rope; 1993's janet.; 1989's Janet Jackson's Rhythm Nation 1814; 1986's Control; 1984's Dream Street; and 1982's Janet Jackson.

Unbreakable features 17 new songs:

1. Unbreakable

2. Burnitup! (feat. Missy Elliott)

3. Dammn Baby

4. The Great Forever

5. Shoulda Known Better

6. After You Fall

7. Broken Hearts Heal

8. Night

9. No Sleeep (feat. J Cole)

10. Dream Maker/ Euphoria

11. 2 B Loved

12. Take Me Away

13. Promise

14. Lessons Learned

15. Black Eagle

16. Well Traveled

17. Gon B Alright

"It is truly a joyous occasion to have Janet's record in hand and on the schedule. This amazing body of work reflects not only the timeless brilliance of Janet's artistry, but a much awaited reunion between Ms. Jackson and the talented duo of Jam & Lewis," Jon Cohen, EVP Recorded Music at BMG US/Vagrant Music, said in a statement Thursday (via Jackson's official website). "Working with Team Janet is a pleasure every day, and BMG is honored to be welcomed into this loving family."

Unbreakable is available for pre-sale on iTunes.

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share