The Hurt Locker, Jeremy Renner

Courtesy of Summit Entertainment

The Hurt Locker hasn't made a bajillion bucks. It doesn't star George Clooney. It's about a war that nobody wants to see at the movies. Basically, it's got one thing going for it: It doesn't lose.

The Iraq-set action drama was named Best Picture, again, this time by the Los Angeles Film Critics. Kathryn Bigelow notched the Best Director win on the same day her movie was tapped an American Film Institute award-winner.

TV talker Mo'Nique won Best Supporting Actress for the brutal, but beloved Precious. Jeff Bridges rated Best Actor for Crazy Heart, The Wrestler-esqe tale for the alt-country set.

Here's a select rundown of today's winners:  

Best Film: The Hurt Locker

Best Actor: Jeff Bridges, Crazy Heart

Best Actress: Yolande Moreau, Séraphine

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds

Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique, Precious

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, The Hurt Locker

Best Screenplay: Up in the Air

Animation Fantastic Mr. Fox

Foreign Language Film: Summer Hours

Documentary The Beaches of Agnès and The Cove (tie)

Like some critics awards, the Los Angeles contingent reveals the runners-up in top categories. So, the makers of Up in the Air, which does star George Clooney, may be happy to know they almost won Best Picture. 

Other first losers include: "It" actress Carey Mulligan (Best Actress—not, for the 1960s-set An Education); Colin Firth (Best Actor—not, for the 1960s-set A Single Man); and, Up, outfoxed by Fantastic Mr. Fox for animation honors. 

Sci-fi surprise District 9 earned director Neill Blomkamp the group's New Generation award. 


The L.A. Film Critics Awards means Oscar season is here. We also hear that it's another season...

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.