Independent Spirit Awards 2018 Winners: The Complete List

See who nabbed the biggest prizes in independent filmmaking

By Meg Swertlow Mar 04, 2018 12:41 AMTags
Nick Kroll, John Mulaney, 2018 Film Independent Spirit AwardsKevin Mazur/Getty Images

As the 2018 Oscars are just around the corner, it's time to recognize the best of the best in independent filmmaking. 

The 2018 Independent Spirit Awards is off and running at its usual beachfront locale in Santa Monica, Calif. on Saturday afternoon, with comedians Nick Kroll and John Mulaney serving as the ceremony's co-hosts once again.

I, Tonya's Margot Robbie and Salma Hayek Pinault are set to present at the star-studded event., as is Tessa ThompsonBlack Panther's Chadwick Boseman, Ben Mendelsohn, John ChoAva DuVernayJon HammScarlett Johansson and Lena Waithe.

Call Me By Your NameThe Florida ProjectGet OutLady Bird and The Rider are nominated for Best Feature.

As for the Robert Altman Award, it's already been announced that the ensemble cast of Mudbound. 

Check out the complete list of 33rd Annual Independent Spirit Award winners below: 

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2018: Red Carpet Fashion
Sony Pictures Classics

Best Feature

Call Me by Your name

The Florida Project


Lady Bird

The Rider

Best Director

Sean Baker, The Florida Project

Jonas Carpignano, A Ciambra

Luca Gudagnino, Call Me by Your Name

WINNER: Jordan Peele, Get Out

Benny Safdie and Josh Benny, Good Time

Chloé Zhao, The Rider

Best First Feature


WINNER: Ingrid Goes West


Oh Lucy!

Patti Cake$

Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Best Female Lead

Salma Hayek, Beatriz at Dinner

WINNER: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Margot Robbie, I, Tonya

Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Shinobu Terajima, Oh Lucy!

Regina Williams, Life and Nothing More

Best Male Lead

WINNER: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats

James Franco, The Disaster Artist

Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out

Robert Pattinson, Good Time

Best Supporting Female

Holly Hunter, The Big Sick

WINNER: Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Laurie Metcalfe, Lady Bird

Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime

Taliah Lennice Webster, Good Time

Best Supporting Male

Nnamdi Asomugha, Crown Heights

Armie Hammer, Call Me by Your Name

Barry Keoghan, The Killing of a Sacred Deer

WINNER: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Bennie Safdie, Good Time


Best Screenplay

WINNER: Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird

Azazel Jacobs, The Lovers

Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Jordan Peele, Get Out

Mike White, Beatriz at the Dinner

Best First Screenplay

Kyle Aspoleta (Story by Kyle Espeleta and Jesse Wakeman), Donald Cried

WINNER: Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick

Ingrid Jungermann, Women Who Kill

Kogonada, Columbus

David Branson Smith and Matt Spicer, Ingrid Goes West

Best International Film

BPM (Beats Per Minute)

WINNER: A Fantastic Woman

I Am Not a Witch

Lady Macbeth


Best Documentary Feature

The Departure

WINNER: Faces Places

The Last Men in Aleppo



Best Cinematography

Thimios Bakatakis, The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Elisha Christian, Columbus

Hélène Louvart, Beach Rats

WINNER: Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name

Joshua James Richards, The Rider

Best Editing

Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie, Good Time

Walter Fasano, Call Me by Your Name

Alex O'Flinn, The Rider

Gregory Plotkin, Get Out

WINNER: Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya

John Cassavetes Award


A Ghost Story

WINNER: Life and Nothing More

Most Beautiful Island

The Transfiguration

Robert Altman Award


Kiehl's Someone to Watch Award

Amman Abbasi, Dayveon

WINNER: Justin Chon, Gook

Kevin Phillips, Super Dark Times

Piaget Producers Award

Giulia Caruso and Ki Jin Kim

Ben LeClair

Summer Shelton

Jeep Truer Than Fiction Award

Shevaun Mizrahi, Distant Constellation

WINNER: Jonathan Olshefshi, Quest

Jeff Unay, The Cage Fighter

Bonnie Award

So Yong Kim

Lynn Shelton

WINNER: Chloé Zhao

Watch the Film Independent Spirit Awards air live Saturday March 3 at 5 p.m. EST/2 p.m. PST on IFC.

This story was first posted at 2:21 p.m. on March 3, 2018.