Calvin Harris, Ariana Grande, Pharrell Williams, Young Thug, Heatstroke

Sony Music

Calvin Harris has an early contender for "Song of the Summer."

At midnight, the producer released "Heatstroke," his latest collaboration with Ariana Grande, Pharrell Williams and Young Thug. The song, which was recorded at God's Eyes Studios in L.A. and Circle House Studios in Miami, is the sixth non-album single Harris has released since 2015.

Harris did the instrumentation using a piano, an electric piano, a 1965 Fender Stratocaster, a flexitone and a synthesizer, among other tools. Starrah provided additional background vocals.

"Heatstroke" follows "Slide" (featuring Migos and Frank Ocean), "My Way," "Hype" (featuring Dizzee Rascal), "This Is What You Came For" (featuring Rihanna) and "How Deep Is Your Love" (featuring Disciples). The producer's last full-length studio album, Motion, dropped in late 2014. Harris nonchalantly announced on Twitter in January that he plans to release 10 songs this year.

In a series of tweets in mid-February, Harris told fans what they can expect to hear from him. "In 2017 I'm making music to make your soul happy!!!!" the musician wrote. "So excited to share this with you !!! !! Can u tell? I worked with the greatest artists of our generation!!! I'm in the mixing stage now. I listen back and can't believe what we created!!!!! More joyful music in 2017. I feel like it's missing from the world. And it was missing from my life. So I created it!!!!"

"Not feel good music," the Grammy winner tweeted. "Feel INCREDIBLE music."

Harris' "Heatroke" is available on iTunes and Spotify now.

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.