Kerry Washington, 2017 Writers Guild Awards

Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for WGAw

We're closer than ever to the 2017 Oscars, and that means tonight we celebrate the 2017 Writers Guild of America Awards!

Hollywood's brightest stars from film and television arrived to The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills and New York City's Edison Ballroom on Sunday evening in anticipation of finding out who goes home a lucky winner. More than 30 honors will be passed out at the 69th annual WGA Awards, and comedians Patton Oswalt and Lewis Black are set to host, respectively.

La La Land might just continue its award season sweep as its nominated for the WGA Awards' most coveted title, Original Screenplay. Also nominated in the category is MoonlightManchester By the SeaHell or High Water and Loving

HBO fixture Game of Thrones will duke it out against Stranger ThingsBetter Call SaulThe Americans and Westworld for best writing in a TV drama series while AtlantaSilicon ValleyTransparentUnbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and Veep make up the TV comedy series nominees.

Sit back, relax and enjoy the complete list of 2017 WGA Award winners below:

Original ScreenplayMoonlight

Comedy/Variety Sketch SeriesSaturday Night Live

Comedy/Variety Talk SeriesLast Week Tonight With John Oliver

Drama SeriesThe Americans

Documentary ScreenplayCommand and Control

 Children's Episodic: Gortimer Gibbon's Life on Normal Street, "Mel vs. The Night Mare of Normal Street"

Children's Long Form: Once Upon a Sesame Street Christmas

Daytime DramaGeneral Hospital

On-Air Promotion (Television, New Media or Radio): "CBS On-Air Reel"

TV News Script - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: "CBS Sunday Morning Almanac"

TV News Script - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report: "Muhammad Ali: Remembering a Legend"

Television Graphic Art and Animation: "The Real History of Cinco de Mayo"

Comedy/Variety SpecialsTriumph's Election Special

Outstanding Achievement in Video Game WritingUncharted 4: A Thief's End

Original Short Form New Media: The Commute, "The Party"

Quiz and Audience ParticipationHollywood Game Night

Radio Documentary: "Chernobyl: 30 Years Later"

Radio News Script - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report: "World News This Week"

Radio News Script - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: "Morley Safer: A Journalist's Life"

AnimationBoJack Horseman, "Stop the Presses"

Documentary Script - Other Than Current EventsJackie Robinson, Part One

Documentary Script - Current EventsFrontline, "The Choice" & "Inside Asaad's Syria"

Adapted Short Form New MediaFear the Walking Dead

Adapted Long Form: The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story

Original Long FormConfirmation

New SeriesAtlanta

Comedy SeriesAtlanta

Adapted ScreenplayArrival

Episodic ComedyUnbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, "Kimmy Goes on a Play Date"

Episodic DramaThis Is Us, "The Trip"

WGA's Valentine Davies Award for Humanitarian Service: Richard Curtis

2017 Jean Renoir Award for International Screenwriting Achievement: Abbas Kiarostami

2017 Morgan Cox Award: Dan Wilcox

Paul Selvin Award: Susannah Grant

Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement: Oliver Stone

Animation Writing Award for Lifetime Achievement: Mike Judge

Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement: Aaron Sorkin

(This story was originally published on Sunday, February 19, 2017 at 4:47 p.m.)

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.