Jeffrey Tambor, Kasia Ostlun, 2016 Emmy Awards, Couples

Photo by John Shearer/WireImage

It's another Emmy for Jeffrey Tambor. The Transparent star took home the Best Actor in a Comedy Series for his portrayal of Maura Pfferman, a transgender woman who came out to her family late in life. Anthony Anderson, Aziz Ansari, Thomas Middleditch, William H. Macyand Will Forte were also nominated in the category. Jimmy Kimmel jokingly gave Tambor an Emmy during his opening monologue.

"What they take away… May I be very very clear about something? There is no best actor. Alright? I am so honored to be in this category with these artistic killers. Thank you guys," Tambor said.

Tambor thanked his Transparent boss Jill Soloway, who also took home an Emmy for directing the Amazon series, and said, "You changed my life, you changed my career and you changed everything."

"I'm not going to say this beautifully. To you people out there… please give transgender talent a chance. Give them auditions. Give them their story. Do that," Tambor said. "I would not be unhappy were I the last cisgender male to play a female transgender on television," he said. "We have work to do."

Tambor also won the award at the 2015 Emmys and a Golden Globe for the role in 2015. The actor has been nominated for an Emmy six other times for his work on Arrested Development and The Larry Sanders Show.

Transparent was up for 10 Emmys at the 2016 ceremony. Judith Light, Gaby Hoffmann, Amy Landecker, Jay Duplass and Kathryn Hahn also star in the half-hour series.

Season three of Transparent premieres September 23 on Amazon.

Watch E!'s live 2016 Emmy Awards red carpet coverage starting at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT on Sunday, September 18th

  • Share
  • Tweet

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.