Joel McHale, 2016 CFDA Fashion Awards

Theo Wargo/Getty Images

The CFDA Awards may not be televised this year, but don't worry, we got you covered.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America Awards (otherwise known as the Academy Awards of the fashion world) took place tonight at Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City for the first time, and although fans of the annual event were not able to witness all of it's high-fashion beauty on the small screen, we're here to give you all the details on who took home an award.

As previously noted, these awards highlight individuals who have shaped American fashion "from all areas of the industry and related arts," the Council of Fashion Designers of America's site explains, "with awards being given for design excellence in womenswear, menswear, and accessories as well as extraordinary accomplishments in journalism, creative vision, and lifetime achievement."

Tonight's ceremony was led by funnyman Joel McHale, who served as the host for the show. The choice to have McHale host the CFDA Awards initially confused some, since he's not necessarily known for being a fan of fashion, but Steven Kolb, chief executive of the CFDA, said having someone "outside of the fashion industry" would "keep the night lively, topical and unexpected."

Sounds about right.

CFDA Statue


As for the tributes and trophies—the late David Bowie was posthumously given the Board of Directors' Tribute, while Gucci's Alessandro Michele was honored with the International Award. Donna Karan will receive the Founder's Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert and Norma Kamali was given the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

Plus, there was a surprise appearance by none other than Beyoncé, who was honored with the Fashion Icon Award! But that's not all.

Here's the full list of winners from the 2016 CFDA Awards:

Fashion Icon Award: Beyoncé
Womenswear Designer of the Year: Marc Jacobs
Menswear Designer of the Year: Thom Browne
Accessories Designer of the Year: Mansur Gavriel: Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel
Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Brandon Maxwell
Swarovski Award for Menswear: Orley: Alex Orley, Matthew Orley, Samantha Orley
Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Paul Andrew
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Norma Kamali
The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Imran Amed, editor in chief of The Business of Fashion
The Founder's Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Donna Karan
International Award: Gucci: Alessandro Michele
Board of Directors' Tribute Award: David Bowie

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.