CFDA Statue


Nominations have just been announced for the fashion industry's biggest awards night of the year!

Marc Jacobs, Altuzarra, Proenza Schouler, Rodarte, Rag & Bone, Public School, Thom Browne, Mansur Gavriel, The Row, and many, many more designers are all in the running to win big at the 2016 CFDA Awards on June 6 for their contributions to the fashion world.

The late David Bowie will posthumously be given the Board of Directors' Tribute, while Gucci's Alessandro Michele will be honored with the International Award.

Donna Karan will receive the Founder's Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert and Norma Kamali will be given the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

The star-studded affair highlights individuals who have shaped American fashion "from all areas of the industry and related arts," the Council of Fashion Designers of America's site explains, "with awards being given for design excellence in womenswear, menswear, and accessories as well as extraordinary accomplishments in journalism, creative vision, and lifetime achievement."

Last year, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen won for Womenswear Designer of the Year for their higher-end line, The Row.

Tom Ford walked away the winner for Menswear Designer of the Year, while Tabitha Simmons earned top honors for Accessories Designer of the Year for her eponymous line.

But perhaps the biggest award of the night went to none other than Pharrell Williams, who was given the Fashion Icon Award.

Past recipients of the Fashion Icon Award also include Rihanna, Johnny Depp, Lady Gaga, Iman and Kate Moss.

Congratulations to all and good luck on the big night!

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.