Gwen Stefani Releases New Song "Make Me Like You" and It's Pretty Obvious Blake Shelton Was the Singer's Muse

Music video will debut during the Grammys Sunday

By Zach Johnson Feb 12, 2016 1:18 PMTags
Gwen Stefani, Make Me Like YouTwitter

Gwen Stefani is in love and she wants the world to know it.

The singer released "Make Me Like You" overnight Thursday, which serves as the second single off her forthcoming album This Is What the Truth Feels Like. Produced by Da Robin and Matt Man, she sings about her boyfriend and fellow coach on The Voice, Blake Shelton: "I was fine before I met you / I was broken but fine / I was lost and uncertain / But my heart was still mine / I was free before I met you / I was broken but free / All alone in the clear view / But now you are all I see / Hey, wait a minute / No, you can't do this to me / Hey, wait a minute / No, that's not fair / Hey, wait a minute / You're running back to me / I really like you, but I'm so scared / Why'd you have to go and make me like you? / Yeah this is a feeling I'm not used to / Why'd you have to go and make me like you? I'm so mad at you 'cause now you got me missing you."

The bubblegum song's lyrics only get sweeter from there.

After releasing the track, Stefani thanked her fans for their support." U guys make me so happy #MakeMeLikeYou omg #loveuback. THANKU for all your tweets gx," she tweeted, adding, "Reading all your tweets #surreal #MakeMeLikeu #MMLY #thanku gx." Shelton, who no doubt served as his girlfriend's muse for the song, is understandably proud of her latest musical endeavor. "You can probably understand the multiple reasons why I just bought this..." he tweeted. "I hope you do to!!! @gwenstefani."

In partnership with Target, Stefani's "Make Me Like You" music video will be filmed and broadcast live during a four-minute commercial break on CBS during the Grammys Sunday. In October, she released a music video for the album's first single, "Used to Love You," written in the wake of her divorce from Bush's Gavin Rossdale. This Is What the Truth Feels Like will feature 10 other tracks, including, "Misery," "You're My Favorite," "Where Would I Be?," "Truth," "Send Me a Picture, "Red Flag," "Asking for It," "Naughty," "Me Without You" and "Rare."