The Voice's Most Brutal Cut Yet Sends Five Singers Home Ahead of Season 9 Finale

Find out who made the season nine finale

By Jean Bentley Dec 09, 2015 2:13 AMTags
The Voice, Season 9, Adam Levine, Gwen Stefani, Pharrell Williams, Blake SheltonNBC

The first cut might be the deepest, but the second, third, fourth and fifth cuts on The Voice's semifinal elimination show, narrowing the field from nine singers to four ahead of next week's finale, were pretty darn brutal.

The hour-long results show got a format shakeup on Tuesday night as three singers were immediately sent to the finals, three performed for the Instant Save, and three were immediately eliminated. While the show also featured performances from former Team Blake winner Cassadee Pope and guest mentor/full-time legend Dolly Parton, the three singers who performed for the Instant Save and the final spot in the finals were the real focus of the show.

Ready for the results?

The three singers who were sent immediately to safety were Team Adam's Jordan Smith and Team Blake's Emily Ann Roberts and Barrett Baber. The three singing for a spot in the finals were Team Gwen's Jeffery Austin, Team Pharrell's Madi Davis and Team Blake's Zach Sebaugh, while Team Gwen's Braiden Sunshine and Team Adam's Shelby Brown and Amy Vachal got the boot right away.


Sebaugh took on Tim McGraw's "Live Like You Were Dying," Davis sang Crowded House's "Don't Dream It's Over," and Austin crooned Ed Sheeran's "Make It Rain."

But ultimately, it was Austin who won over the viewers active on Twitter, sending Gwen Stefani's Chicago native to compete against Blake Shelton and Adam Levine's frontronners in the last week of competition and knocking coach Pharrell Williams out of the competition completely.

That means four singers are left:

Team Adam

Jordan Smith

Team Blake

Emily Ann Roberts

Barrett Baber

Team Gwen

Jeffery Austin

Did the right five singers go home? Did America vote the correct three immediately through?

The Voice season nine winner will be crowned on Tuesday, Dec. 15 at 9 p.m. on NBC.

(E! and NBC are both part of the NBCUniversal family.)