Adele, 25


UPDATE: Adele revealed Thursday that 25 will be available Nov. 20.

A music video for "Hello" will debut Friday; 25's track list is as follows:

1. Hello

2. Send My Love (To Your New Lover)

3. I Miss You

4. When We Were Young

5. Remedy

6. Water Under The Bridge

7. River Lea

8. Love in the Dark

9. Million Years Ago

10. All I Ask

11. Sweetest Devotion


Adele has confirmed her new album will be called 25.

Following the massive successes of 19 and 21, released in 2008 and 2011, respectively, the 27-year-old award-winning singer opened up about her new music via a lengthy Facebook post Wednesday. The title of 25 follows the "Rumor Has It" singer's pattern of naming each album after her age.

"When I was 7, I wanted to be 8. When I was 8, I wanted to be 12. When I turned 12 I just wanted to be 18. Then after that I stopped wanting to be older. Now I'm ticking 16-24 boxes just to see if I can blag it! I feel like I've spent my whole life so far wishing it away. Always wishing I was older, wishing I was somewhere else, wishing I could remember and wishing I could forget too. Wishing I hadn't ruined so many good things because I was scared or bored. Wishing I wasn't so matter of fact all the time," Adele wrote in her note. "Wishing I'd gotten to know my great grandmother more, and wishing I didn't know myself so well, because it means I always know what's going to happen. Wishing I hadn't cut my hair off, wishing I was 5-foot-7. Wishing I'd waited and wishing I'd hurried up as well."

Since the release of 19, she started dating Simon Konecki and gave birth to their son.

"My last record was a break-up record and if I had to label this one I would call it a make-up record," said Adele, whose "Someone Like You" nabbed a Grammy. "I'm making up with myself. Making up for lost time. Making up for everything I ever did and never did. But I haven't got time to hold onto the crumbs of my past like I used to. What's done is done," the musician wrote. "Turning 25 was a turning point for me, slap bang in the middle of my twenties. Teetering on the edge of being an old adolescent and a fully-fledged adult, I made the decision to go into becoming who I'm going to be forever without a removal van full of my old junk."

"I miss everything about my past, the good and the bad, but only because it won't come back. When I was in it I wanted out! So typical," the "Rolling in the Deep" singer said. "I'm on about being a teenager, sitting around and chatting shit, not caring about the future because it didn't matter then like it does now."

"The ability to be flippant about everything and there be no consequences. Even following and breaking better than making the rules," she wrote on Facebook. "25 is about getting to know who I've become without realizing. And I'm so sorry it took so long, but you know, life happened."

Rumored collaborators include Max Martin, Diane Warren and One Republic's Ryan Tedder. A preview of Adele's new album appeared without warning on Sunday night during a commercial break on The X Factor in The U.K. The 30-second clip featured lyrics on a black screen. "Hello / It's me / I was wondering if after all these years you'd like to meet / To go over everything / They say that time's supposed to heal ya / But I ain't done much healing..." she sang. At the time, Adele's reps refused to confirm whether the new material was legitimate.

(Originally published on Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2015, at 5:49 a.m. PDT.)

  • Share
  • Tweet

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.