The pens may prove yet mightier than the discord, but on Saturday night, it was still the producers that reigned supreme.

No Country for Old Men led the winners at the19th annual Producers Guild of America Awards Saturday, taking home the award for Best Feature Film and giving it one last push to bigger glory in the homestretch of this awards season.

It's just the latest in a long line of best-feature nods the Joel and Ethan Coen drama has garnered this awards season and the latest tip that the film may once again score the top prize when the Academy Awards take place later this month, in whatever incarnation that may be.

The film, starring Javier Bardem, Josh Brolin and Tommy Lee Jones, has already taken home the equivalent best-film awards from the Directors and Screen Actors guilds, giving it a clean sweep through all three unions.

As for the PGA Awards, held as a gala event at the Beverly Hills Hilton, No Country for Old Men beat out stiff competition from There Will Be Blood, Juno, Michael Clayton and The Diving Bell and the Butterfly to secure the night's biggest prize—the same competition, save for the swap of Diving Bell for Atonement, it will face come Oscar night.

The Producers Guild's top nod, the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award, was shared by No Country producers Scott Rudin and the Coens.

Joining the flick in the winner's circle was Ratatouille, which was named Best Animated Feature by the guild's 4,000 voting members.

The awards show honors both film and TV, and once again, some familiar names were read from the podium.

Over in TV land, like Emmy and Screen Actors Guild voters before them, the PGA honored 30 Rock and The Sopranos as Best Comedy and Drama Series, respectively.

Stephen Colbert's Colbert Report was chosen as the Best Live Entertainment/Competition Program, beating out The Amazing Race, Project Runway, American Idol and Real Time with Bill Maher.

Michael Moore also got shown some love from the producers, as his hate letter to the health industry, Sicko, was named Best Documentary.

Other winners from the evening included the awards-friendly Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, the HBO miniseries that has made its presence known at awards show for the better part of the past nine months, which was named Best Long-Form TV Program, and Planet Earth, the Discovery Channel's joint production with the BBC, which left with the nod for Best Nonfiction TV Program.

Morgan Freeman was also on hand to lend some star power to the event, presenting the lifetime achievement equivalent Milestone Award to producer Alan Horn. Indy himself, Harrison Ford, was present to hand over the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures to Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall.

Simon Fuller, the über-producer who lays claim to such disparate productions as American Idol and the phenomenon that is the Beckhams, was honored with the night's Visionary Award, given to producers who demonstrate a "unique or uplifting quality." YouTube founders Chad Hurley and Steve Chen walked away with the Vanguard Award.

Closing out the evening, Denzel Washington, with help from castmates Nate Parker, Denzel Whitaker and Jurnee Smollett, presented their film The Great Debaters with the Stanley Kramer Award, so given for addressing important social issues on the big screen. Among the film's producers receiving the award was Oprah Winfrey.

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.