J.J. Abrams, Star Wars

LucasFilms, Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The wait is over!

The cast for Star Wars: Episode VII was finally—FINALLY!—revealed today.

John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow will join the original stars of the saga, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker in the latest installment of the hugely successful film franchise, StarWars.com revealed on Tuesday.

"We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII," director J.J. Abrams said in a statement posted on the site. "It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

Abrams cowrote the script with Lawrence Kasdan, who penned The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, following an early draft by Michael Arndt.

Earlier this month, Disney Studios chairman Alan Horn told the Hollywood Reporter that the story will pick up "where VI left off—and where VI left off is 35 years ago by the time this is released."

Star Wars: Episode VII is scheduled to hit theaters on Dec. 18, 2015.

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share