ABC/Richard Cartwright

There will be two less doctors in the house on Grey's Anatomy next season (which has yet to be officially announced). Tessa Ferrer and Gaius Charles will not return as series regulars, according to reports. ABC declined to comment.

On Grey's Anatomy, Charles plays Shane Ross and Ferrer plays Leah Murphy.The two joined Grey's Anatomy in season nine and were promoted to series regulars alongside Camilla Luddington and Jerikka Hinton for season 10 of the hit ABC medical drama.

Deadline first reported the cast shakeup.

Sandra Oh, who has been with the series since the star, will also depart this season, but Grey's stars Patrick Dempsy and Ellen Pompeo signed new contracts for seasons 11 and 12 in January. However, "this doesn't mean Grey's has been renewed, but it is likely to go at least one more season," a source told E! News in January.

"I see the show going as long as I continue to be interested in the show," series creator Shonda Rhimes told E! News when Oh's departure was announced. "And then I don't know about the network, because they might see it going after me. But as I see it, as long as I'm interested and have stories to tell, I'm excited about being there."

However, ABC's Paul Lee told reporters at TCA that Grey's had many years left in it.

"[Executive producer] Shonda Rhimes is one of the greatest writers that our generation has seen. She's continuing to write an immensely powerful show. It makes you laugh and cry every week, and what season are we now? And by the way, to her enormous credit, it is completely different than Scandal. And I love it. I think it's going to stay on the network for many years to come," Lee told reporters about Grey's Anatomy at TCA.

Grey's Anatomy airs Thursdays, 9 p.m. on ABC.

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.