Woody Allen

Ron Galella/WireImage

Congrats, Woody Allen!

The legendary director has been chosen as the honoree who will receive the coveted Cecil B. DeMille Award at the 2014 Golden Globe Awards on Jan. 12, 2014.

"There is no one more worthy of this award than Woody Allen," Theo Kingma, president of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, said in a statement today. "His contributions to filmmaking have been phenomenal and he truly is an international treasure."

Every year during the annual Golden Globes, the HFPA awards the Cecil B. DeMille award to one Hollywood icon who's "made an incredible impact on the world of entertainment."

Allen, 77, has directed almost 50 movies in his 48-year career. Most recently, he's made hits like Midnight in Paris, Blue Jasmine, To Rome With Love and Vicky Cristina Barcelona.

Jodie Foster was lucky enough to receive this year's Cecil B. DeMille award back in January of this year (remember that puzzling sorta coming-out speech?).

Other celebs who have nabbed the honor in more recent years include Steven Spielberg, Morgan Freeman, Barbra Streisand, Anthony Hopkins, Martin Scorsese, Michael Douglas and Robert De Niro.

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.