Frank Ocean, Grammys, Performance

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Ready for the best of the Web?

The 2013 Webby Awards, which celebrate Internet achievement, have officially been unveiled, and the accolades are pouring in for stars like Frank Ocean, Ben Stiller, Jerry Seinfeld and more.

The Grammy-award winning R&B singer was named the Webby Person of the Year for coming out to his fans on his Tumblr account and for "showing a deep understanding of the Internet as a communicative tool for social change." 

House of Cards producers Kevin Spacey and Dana Brunetti also received a special achievement award for their work on the digital political thriller, while Seinfeld nabbed the honor for Outstanding Comedic Performance on the Web series "Comedians in Cars Get Coffee." 

Other big winners include Obama for America 2012 for including the Web as an "integral part of a modern political campaign" as well as the team behind the Web series Burning Love (including producer Ben Stiller) for their effort in engaging an Internet audience "directly through strategic social media." 

GIF file inventor Steve Wilhite will also be honored with the Webby Special Achievement award, while Chris Kluwe was named the first Webby Athlete of the Year for his open letter to a Maryland state delegate in an effort to end homophobia in professional sports. 

This year, The Onion continued its Internet reign, landing its 18th and 19th Webby for Best Humor Website, while Funny or Die also won for two videos, "Charlize Theron Gets Hacked" and "The Wire: The Musical." 

Other notable winners include Justin Bieber (for his "Girlfriend" fragrance launch and social media campaign), Lady Gaga (for best celebrity-fan social presence), The New York Times (for best news social presence) and Google Maps for iPhone, which nabbed five honors, including best use of GPS or location technology. 

The 2013 judges included Twitter cofounder Biz Stone, Ariana Huffington and Instagram creator Kevin Systrom. Check out the full list at and be sure to tune in to the awards ceremony, hosted by Patton Oswalt on May 22. 

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.