Just two weeks after making the Academy of Country Music nominations a family affair, purty country couple Faith Hill and Tim McGraw dominated the field of contenders today at another Nashville contest, the TNN Awards.

The missus led the way with eight nominations and her hubby was close behind with five. They'll be facing off for the top TNN prize, Entertainer of the Year, along with the new Impact Award (for crossover success) and Album of the Year (her Breathe vs. his A Place in the Sun). The received a joint nomination for Collaborative Event of the year for their duet, "Let's Make Love."

She also racked up nods for female artist, song, single, video (all for her omnipresent hit "Breathe"). His other nomination came for top male artist.

George Strait, meanwhile, racked up six nods, including Entertainer of the Year. Newby Brad Paisley, whose touching track "He Didn't Have to Be" became a radio fixture last year, perennial contender Alan Jackson and that other interminably cute country couple, Clint and Lisa Hartman Black, all scored four nominations. Reba McEntire, Vince Gill, the Dixie Chicks and Lonestar each received three.

The TNN Awards are part of Nashville's trifecta of honors. However, unlike the Academy of Country Music Association Awards and the Country Music Association Awards, which are doled out by industry types, fans pick the TNN winners (voting can be done online at either country.com or CountryWeekly.com).

Formerly the TNN Music City News Awards, organizers dropped the affiliation when Music City News went under last year and struck a new deal with Country Weekly (the official new name is Country Weekly Presents TNN Music Awards). The biggest difference this year, aside from the name change, is the addition of the Fast Track Award (honoring creative growth), the Discovery Award (a sort-of best new artist prize) and the Impact Award (recognizing the artist whose had the greatest influence outside country music).

The hardware gets passed out June 15 at Nashville's Gaylord Entertainment Center, with Jeff Foxworthy again handling the hosting chores.

Here's the complete rundown of nominees.

Entertainer of the Year: Faith Hill, Alan Jackson, Tim McGraw, George Strait, Shania Twain Male Artist: Kenny Chesney, Vince Gill, Alan Jackson, Tim McGraw, George Strait Female Artist: Faith Hill, Martina McBride, Reba McEntire, Jo Dee Messina, Shania Twain Fast Track Award: Trace Adkins, Lila McCann, Steve Wariner, Mark Wills, Chely Wright Discovery Award: Montgomery Gentry, Brad Paisley, SHeDAISY, the Wilkinsons, Mark Wills Group/Duo: Alabama, Brooks & Dunn, Dixie Chicks, Lonestar, the Wilkinsons Collaborative Event: "God Must Have Spent a Little More Time on You," Alabama with 'N Sync; "When I Said I Do," Clint Black and Lisa Hartman Black; "There's No Place That Far," Sara Evans with Vince Gill; "Let's Make Love," Faith Hill with Tim McGraw; "My Kind of Woman/My Kind of Man," Vince Gill with Patty Loveless Album: Always Never the Same, George Strait; Breathe, Faith Hill; A Place in the Sun, Tim McGraw; Fly, Dixie Chicks; Under the Influence, Alan Jackson Song: "Amazed," Lonestar, written by Marv Green, Aimee Mayo and Chris Lindsey; "Breathe," Faith Hill, written by Holly Lamar and Stephanie Bentley; "He Didn't Have to Be," Brad Paisley, written by Brad Paisley and Kelley Lovelace; "When I Said I Do," Clint Black with Lisa Hartman Black, written by Clint Black; "Write This Down," George Strait, written by Dana Hunt and Kent Robbins Single: "Amazed," Lonestar; "Breathe," Faith Hill; "He Didn't Have to Be," Brad Paisley; "When I Said I Do," Clint Black with Lisa Hartman Black; "Write This Down," George Strait CMT Music Video: "Breathe," Faith Hill; "He Didn't Have to Be," Brad Paisley; "Ready to Run," Dixie Chicks; "What Do You Say," Reba McEntire;"When I Said I Do," Clint Black with Lisa Hartman Black Impact Award: Faith Hill, Alan Jackson, Reba McEntire, Tim McGraw, George Strait

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share