Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom, Bradley Cooper, Silver Lining Playbook


Hollywood is literally getting into the spirit of the awards season.

The nominations for the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards were announced Tuesday, and Silver Linings Playbook and Moonrise Kingdom are leading all hopefuls with five nods apiece.

In what essentially amounted to a major sweep, Silver Linings nabbed nods in all five major categories: Best Feature, Best Male Lead (Bradley Cooper), Best Female Lead (Jennifer Lawrence), Best Director (David O. Russell) and Best Screenplay.

It'll be going up for Best Feature against Moonrise Kingdom, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Bernie and Keep the Lights On.

The nominations also included a slew of other boldface names: Rashida Jones scored a screenplay nomination (along with cowriter Will McCormack) for Celeste and Jesse Forever; Helen Hunt is in the race for Best Supporting Female for her revealing performance in The Sessions; and Bruce Willis nabbed a Best Supporting Male nom for Moonrise Kingdom.

One pleasant surprise? Matthew McConaughey scored twin nominations: Best Male Lead for Killer Joe and Best Supporting Male performance for…Magic Mike. Guess the stripper bonanza wasn't all about beefcake pecs!

The Spirit Awards are often considered a hipper, more low-key antidote to the Oscars, with stars showing up barefoot and kicking back at a seaside tent along Santa Monica Beach the day before the more glammed-up Academy Awards.

Although the Spirit's winners often tend to skew arthouse and diverge from the year's big Oscar victors, last year's crop was uncharacteristically in sync with the Academy's picks: Eventual Oscar champ The Artist also nabbed Spirit wins for Best Picture and Best Director.

Best Feature
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Keep the Lights On
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director
Wes Anderson, Moonrise Kingdom
Julia Loktev, The Loneliest Planet
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs, Keep the Lights On
Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Screenplay
Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, Moonrise Kingdom
Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh, Seven Psychopaths
David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs and Mauricio Zacharias, Keep the Lights On

Best Female Lead
Linda Cardellini, Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi, Middle of Nowhere
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhané Wallis, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Smashed

Best Male Lead
Jack Black, Bernie
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes, The Sessions
Thure Lindhardt, Keep the Lights On
Matthew McConaughey, Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce, Four

Best Supporting Female
Rosemarie DeWitt, Your Sister's Sister
Ann Dowd, Compliance
Helen Hunt, The Sessions
Brit Marling, Sound of My Voice
Lorraine Toussaint, Middle of Nowhere

Best Supporting Male
Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike
David Oyelowo, Middle of Nowhere
Michael Péna, End of Watch
Sam Rockwell, Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis, Moonrise Kingdom

Best First Feature
Fill the Void
Gimme the Loot
Safety Not Guaranteed
Sound of My Voice
The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Best First Screenplay
Rama Burshtein, Fill the Void
Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed
Christopher Ford, Robot & Frank
Rashida Jones and Will McCormack, Celeste and Jesse Forever
Jonathan Lisecki, Gayby

John Cassavetes Award (for feature made for under $500,000)
Breakfast with Curtis
Middle of Nowhere
Mosquita y Mari
The Color Wheel

Best Cinematography
Yoni Brook, Valley of Saints
Lol Crawley, Here
Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild
Roman Vasyanov, End of Watch
Robert Yeoman, Moonrise Kingdom

Best Documentary
How to Survive a Plague
Marina Abramović: The Artist Is Present
The Central Park Five
The Invisible War
The Waiting Room

Best International Film
Amour (France)
Once Upon a Time in Anatolia (Turkey)
Rust and Bone (France/Belgium)
Sister (Switzerland)
War Witch (Democratic Republic of Congo)

16th Annual Piaget Producers Award
Nobody Walks
Prince Avalanche
Stones in the Sun

19th Annual Someone to Watch Award
Gimme the Loot
Electrick Children

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
The Waiting Room
Only the Young

Robert Altman Award


  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.