Whitney Houston, Amy Winehouse Honored Posthumously With 2012 Soul Train Awards Nominations

Cedric the Entertainer will host show in Las Vegas on Nov.8

By Rebecca Macatee Sep 19, 2012 8:01 PMTags
Amy Winehouse, Whitney HoustonMark Allan/WireImage; Kevin Winter/Getty Images

The 2012 Soul Train Awards seek to honor music's top acts—even those who are no longer with us.

On Wednesday, Whitney Houston and Amy Winehouse both received posthumous nominations this year's awards. Houston's collaboration with Jordin Sparks on "Celebrate" is up for Best Gospel International Performance, and Winehouse's song "Our Day Wil Come" is up for Best International Performance.

Other notable nominees include R. Kelly, whose two nominations this year bring him to six noms total, the most in Soul Train Awards History. Usher also made Soul Train Awards history with five nominations, surpassing both Michael Jackson and Beyoncé for total nominations in a lifetime.

Hosted by Cedric The Entertainer, the Soul Train Awards will be held Nov. 8 at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas and aired Nov. 25 at 9 p.m. on BET and Centric.

Below is a complete list of this year's Soul Train Awards nominees. Congratulations, everyone!  

Best New Artist
Elle Varner
Emeli Sande
J. Cole
Luke James
Robert Glasper

Centric Award
Esperanza Spalding
Gary Clark Jr.
Leah Labelle

Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance
BeBe Winans, America America
Fred Hammond, I Feel Good
Marvin Sapp, My Testimony
Mary Mary, Go Get It
Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks, Celebrate

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year
2 Chainz feat. Drake, No Lie
Wale feat. Miguel, Lotus Flower Bomb
Nas, Daughters
Kanye West feat. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz, Mercy
Young Jeezy feat. Ne-Yo, Leave You Alone

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Keyshia Cole
Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Robin Thicke
Trey Songz

Album of the Year
Eric Benet, The One
Frank Ocean, Channel Orange
Nas, Life Is Good
R. Kelly, Write Me Back
Usher, Looking For Myself

Song of the Year
Estelle, "Thank You"
John Legend feat. Ludacris, "Tonight (Best You Ever Had)"
Trey Songz, "Heart Attack"
Tyrese, "Stay"
Usher, "Climax"
Wale feat. Miguel, "Lotus Flower Bomb"

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter's Award
"Thank You," Estelle (Writers: Arden Altino, Akene "The Champ" Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam)
"Tonight (Best You Ever Had)," John Legend feat. Ludacris (Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher "Ludacris" Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel "Miguel", Clayton Reilly, John Stephens)
"Daughters," Nas (Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka)
"Share My Love," R. Kelly (Writer: Robert Kelly)
"Climax," Usher (Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean "Redd Stylez" Fenton, Thomas "Diplo" Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid)

Best Dance Performance
Beyoncé, Love On Top
Chris Brown, Turn Up The Music
Nicki Minaj, Starships
Rihanna, Where Have You Been
Usher, Scream

CentricTV.com awards:

CENTRICTV.com Best Caribbean Performance
Cover Drive, Bajan Style
Damien "Junior Gong" Marley, SuperHeavy
Jimmy Cliff, Rebirth
Matisyahu, Spark Seeker
Sean Paul, Tomahawk Technique

CENTRICTV.com Best International Performance
Amy Winehouse, Our Day Will Come
Daley feat. Marsha Ambrosius, Alone Together
Emeli Sande, Next To Me
Estelle, Thank You
Gotye feat. Kimbra, Somebody (That I Used To Know)
Rebecca Ferguson, Nothing's Real But Love

CENTRICTV.com Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group
Chris Botti, Impressions
Kenny Garrett, Seeds From The Underground
Melody Gardot, The Absence
The Robert Glasper Experiment, Black Radio
Tony Bennett, Isn't It Romantic

CENTRICTV.com Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group
Ben Tankard, Full Tank
Cassandra Wilson, Another Country
Esperanza Spalding, Radio Music Society
Peter White, Here We Go