It's Striptease vs. The Island of Dr. Moreau for worst film of the year, as nominations for the Golden Raspberries--the anti-Oscars--were announced today.

Those two turkeys picked up six nominations each for the reviled Razzie, which annually dis-honors the dregs of cinema. The nominees are selected by the 475 members of the Golden Raspberry Award Foundation, a group of industry executives, journalists and fans that love to hate movies.

Unlike the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, which announces its contenders Tuesday, GRAF doesn't take itself too seriously. While Oscar is a streamlined gold statuette worth thousands, the Razzie is a gold-spray-painted plastic berry valued at $2.19.

The Razzies don't stick to typical categories, either. This year, those vying for worst screen couple include Beavis and Butt-head (Beavis and Butt-head Do America), Marlon Brando and that darn dwarf (The Island of Dr. Moreau), Matt LeBlanc and Ed the mechanical monkey (Ed) and Pamela Anderson Lee's impressive enhancements (Barb Wire).

Summer blockbusters The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Independence Day, Mission: Impossible, A Time to Kill and Twister will be competing in our favorite category: The Joe Eszterhas Award for Worst Written Film Grossing over $100 Million.

There was some especially lame acting this year, according to GRAF. Tom Arnold (Big Bully, Carpool and The Stupids) and Whoopi Goldberg (Bogus, Eddie and Theodore Rex) each picked up three nods for worst actor, while Demi Moore (The Juror and Striptease) and Adam Sandler (Bulletproof and Happy Gilmore) each garned two. And, of course, Sylvester Stallone racked up another worst actor nomination for Daylight--his 13th in a row, making him the all-time Razzie champion.

The most heated competition should come in the worst new star category. Ellen DeGeneres and Pamela Anderson Lee square off against Beavis and Butt-head, the new serious Sharon Stone and Friends cast members turned movie star-wannabes.

The, um, winners will be announced on March 23, a day before the Academy Awards are presented.

Here are all the nominees for the 17th Annual Golden Raspberry Awards:

Worst Picture:
Barb Wire;
The Island of Dr. Moreau;
The Stupids

Worst Actor:
Tom Arnold, Big Bully, Carpool and The Stupids;
Keanu Reeves, Chain Reaction;
Adam Sandler, Bulletproof and Happy Gilmore;
Pauly Shore, Bio-Dome;
Sylvester Stallone, Daylight

Worst Actress:
Whoopi Goldberg, Bogus, Eddie and Theodore Rex;
Melanie Griffith, Two Much;
Pamela Anderson Lee, Barb Wire;
Demi Moore, The Juror and Striptease;
Julia Roberts, Mary Reilly

Worst Screen Couple:
Beavis and Butt-head, Beavis and Butt-head Do America;
Marlon Brando and That Darn Dwarf, The Island of Dr. Moreau;
Matt LeBlanc and Ed (The Mechanical Monkey), Ed;
Pamela Anderson Lee's Impressive Enhancements, Barb Wire;
Demi Moore and Burt Reynolds, Striptease

Worst Supporting Actor:
Marlon Brando, The Island of Dr. Moreau;
Val Kilmer, Ghost and the Darkness and The Island of Dr. Moreau;
Steven Seagal, Executive Decision;
Burt Reynolds, Striptease;
Quentin Tarantino, From Dusk Till Dawn

Worst Supporting Actress:
Faye Dunaway, The Chamber and Dunston Checks In;
Jami Gertz, Twister;
Melanie Griffith, Mulholland Falls;
Daryl Hannah, Two Much;
Teri Hatcher, Heaven's Prisoners and 2 Days in the Valley

The Joe Eszterhas Worst Written Film Grossing Over $100 Million Award:
The Hunchback of Notre Dame;
Independence Day;
Mission: Impossible;
A Time to Kill;

Worst Director:
Andrew Bergman, Striptease;
John Frankenheimer, The Island of Dr. Moreau;
Stephen Frears, Mary Reilly;
John Landis, The Stupids;
Briant Levant, Jingle All the Way

Worst Screenplay:
Barb Wire, Chuck Pfarrer and Ilene Chaiken;
Ed, David Mickey Evans;
The Island of Dr. Moreau, Richard Stanley and Ron Hutchinson;
Striptease, Andrew Bergman;
The Stupids, Brent Forrester

Worst New Star:
Beavis and Butt-head, Beavis and Butt-head Do America;
Ellen DeGeneres, Mr. Wrong;
Friends Cast Members Turned Movie Star-Wannabes (Jennifer Aniston, Lisa Kudrow, Matt LeBlanc and David Schwimmer);
Pamela Anderson Lee, Barb Wire;
The New Serious Sharon Stone, Diabolique and Last Dance

Worst "Original" Song:
"Pussy, Pussy, Pussy (Whose Kitty Cat Are You?)" from Striptease;
"Welcome to the Planet Boom (a.k.a. This Boom's For You)" from Barb Wire;
"Whenever There is Love (Love theme from Daylight)" from Daylight

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.