Melissa McCarthy, Matthew McConaughey, Jessica Chastain, Kerry Washintgton, Jonah Hill

A slew of our favorite celebs are going to rock the vote.

Yup, it's that time of year: when a select group of Hollywood A-listers are invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the prestigious organization responsible for handing out the Oscars.

At the top of this year's list of 176 invitees are Matthew McConaughey, Melissa McCarthy, Jonah Hill, Kerry Washington, The Help costars Jessica Chastain and Octavia Spencer along with The Artist's Jean Dujardin and Bérénice Bejo.

So, why'd they make the cut?

"These film professionals represent some of the most talented, most passionate contributors to our industry," Academy President Tom Sherak said in a statement. "I'm glad to recognize that by calling each of them a fellow Academy member."

The Artist's stars aren't the only celebs from across our borders to be asked: Simon Baker, Demián Bichir, Richard E. Grant, Diego Luna, Janet McTeer and Michelle Yeoh are on the list, too.

Brad Pitt's The Tree of Life director Terrence Malick has been asked, as has Michel Hazanavicius, the French director behind The Artist.

Rounding things out are Bryan Cranston, Sam Rockwell, Nia Vardalos, Lili Taylor, Tom Berenger, Clifton Collins, Jr. and Andy Serkis.

If they all accept—and we can't imagine they won't—voting membership will stand at just under 6,000.

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.