Kanye West's Donda Album, Featuring Multiple Celeb Cameos, Is Finally Released

Kanye West's long-awaited album Donda has finally dropped. Find out more info about his new record, which features guest vocals from other top artists.

By Corinne Heller Aug 29, 2021 4:25 PMTags
Watch: Kim Kardashian "Blindsided" by Kanye West's Guests at "Donda" Event

UPDATE: Hours after Kanye West's new album Donda was finally released, the rapper wrote on Instagram, "UNIVERSAL PUT MY ALBUM OUT WITHOUT MY APPROVAL AND THEY BLOCKED JAIL 2 FROM BEING ON THE ALBUM." Universal Music Group has not commented.


Kanye West's album is finally here.

On Sunday, Aug. 29, the 44-year-old rapper and designer's long-awaited 10th studio album Donda was finally released more than a month after its original release date and three large listening parties later, most recently a Chicago stadium event, during which his soon-to-be ex-wife Kim Kardashian appeared onstage in a wedding gown.

Donda, which is named after Kanye's late mother and which includes religious themes, was released on Apple Music, Amazon Music and Spotify. The record contains 27 tracks, including a title song. The album also includes the track "Believe What I Say," which samples Lauryn Hill's 1998 hit "Doo Wop (That Thing)."

Other artists featured on Donda include Travis ScottThe Weeknd, Chris BrownKid CudiPlayboi Carti, Young Thug, The Loxlate rapper Pop Smoke and Jay-Z, who contributed a verse to the track "Jail."

Inside Kanye West's Donda Event in Chicago

The latter is also credited as a co-writer of the song, along with several others. One of them is Marilyn Manson, a.k.a. Brian Warner, who appeared at Kanye's most recent listening party in Chicago. The shock rocker is currently facing accusations of sexual assault and other misconduct, which he has denied.

Brian Prahl/MEGA

Donda also contains a sequel song, "Jail pt 2," which was unavailable for streaming for the first few hours of the album's release. Both Manson and rapper DaBaby, who also appeared at the party and whose real name is Jonathan Kirk, are credited as co-writers of the track. DaBaby recently stirred controversy with homophobic remarks, for which he has apologized.

Brad Barket/Getty Images for Fast Company

Hours before the album was released, Kanye posted on Instagram screenshots of a text exchange with his manager, Bu Thiam, that suggested DaBaby's manager had an issue clearing "Jail." Kanye, who ran for president in 2020, defended his "brother," saying he "was the only person who said he would vote for me in public." DaBaby, who did tweet last August, "You got me f--ked up you think I ain't voting for Ye," has not commented about the alleged dispute.

Check out a track listing for Donda:

1. "Donda Chant"
2. "Jail"
3. "God Breathed"
4. "Off the Grid"
5. "Hurricane"
6. "Praise God"
7. "Jonah"
8. "Ok Ok"
9. "Junya"
10. "Believe What I Say"
11. "24"
12. "Remote Control"
13. "Moon"
14. "Heaven and Hell"
15. "Donda"
16. "Keep My Spirit Alive"
17. "Jesus Lord"
18. "New Again"
19. "Tell the Vision"
20. "Lord I Need You"
21. "Pure Souls"
22. "Come to Life"
23. "No Child Left Behind"
24. "Jail pt 2"
25. "Ok Ok pt 2"
26. "Junya pt 2"
27. "Jesus Lord pt 2."

Watch Daily Pop weekdays at 11 a.m., only on E!.