The Webby has been cast and the winners of the Internet's top prize are surprisingly star-studded.

Late-night newcomer Jimmy Fallon was named Person of the Year for the 13th annual incarnation of the Internet awards, saluted for using the Web to prepare him for taking the hosting reins from Conan O'Brien. The Saturday Night Live veteran used Twitter and videoblogs for feedback and, consequently, became "one of the most ardent online evangelists," in the words of the awards organizers.

Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane won the Film and Video Person of the Year trophy for his Web-based Cavalcade of Cartoon Comedy, which is now syndicated across Google's Content Network.

Funny gals also earned gongs for their viral work—including Lisa Kudrow and Sarah Silverman—as did rocker Trent Reznor.

The Nine Inch Nails frontman landed the Artist of the Year prize for "harnessing the power of the Internet to share his music and passions in new and innovative ways" by releasing the band's 2008 album, The Slip, for free on the band's website. They also launched a tour video and alternate-reality game.

Former Friends star Kudrow earned the Outstanding Comedic Performance award for starring in, directing and producing her series, Web Therapy, for Silverman took the gong for Best Actress for her various YouTube hits, including "I'm F--king Matt Damon" and "The Great Schlep." beat out fellow nominee Paris Hilton for Best Individual Comedy Short for "Prop 8: The Musical," starring Jack Black, John C. Reilly and Neil Patrick Harris.

Coming from an awards show that limits its acceptance speeches to only five words, it's only appropriate that the microblogging site Twitter earned the Breakout of the Year award.

There were a few other really big winners for the E! Online crowd, and you're lookin' one of them. E! Online took home the gold for the People's Voice Award in the Celebrity/Fan Website category.  The Soup Blog was selected as an Official Honoree in the Humor Category and Live From the Red Carpet was an Official Honoree in the Best Visual Design-Function category. And our corporate cousins at G4 won the People’s Voice Award Webby for Best Mobile Entertainment. Go us, and thank you for voting!

The 13th Annual Webby Awards will be presented by host Seth Meyers on June 8 in New York City. Go to for the full list of winners.


Follow us on Twitter @eonline

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.