Emmy Award statuette


Admit it, you'd love to see Donald Trump and Tyra Banks duke it out American Gladiator-style in some winner-take-all ultimate reality-kingpin showdown.

Until that blessed day comes, though, we're going to have to settle for the next best thing: our favorite overlords of unscripted TV facing off at the Emmys.

Not content with the 90 statuettes they already bestow to the tube's finest, the folks at the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced plans today for yet another category beginning with this year's festivities:

Outstanding Host for a Reality or Reality-Competition Program.

Per an oh-so-helpful release from the Academy, the prize "is for the proactive 'master of ceremony' host and does not include reactive participants or judges."

In English, that means American Idol's Ryan Seacrest could be nominated, but not Simon Cowell.

Based on last year's nominees in the Reality and Reality Competition races, possible contenders for the new host prize could include, among others, Seacrest, Survivor's Jeff Probst, Project Runway's Heidi Klum and/or Tim Gunn, Dancing with the Stars' Tom Bergeron and/or Samantha Harris, Top Chef's Padma Lakshmi, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition's Ty Pennington and My Life on the D-List's Kathy Griffin, and, the presumptive favorite, Phil Keoghan of the Emmy-hogging The Amazing Race.

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.