Disney/ Pixar's Up

Disney/ Pixar

Oscars, schmoscars. This weekend was all about the best and brightest in Hollywood animation.

At Saturday's 37th Annual Annie Awards, Pixar's Up, the little gem that's also in the running for top honors at this year's Academy Awards, was named Best Animated Film and Best Directing in a Feature. The Oscar contender stole the prize from hits such as Coraline, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Fantastic Mr. Fox and The Secret of Kells.

Elsewhere in the animated realm, Walt Disney Studios knocked out a majority of its competition, taking home a total of six Annies, including three for the hand-drawn critical favorite, The Princess and the Frog, while Dreamworks Studios garnered five Annies for their numerous made for TV productions.

The remaining 2010 Annie Awards winners include:


  • Animated Feature: Up
  • Home Entertainment Production: Futurama: Into the Wild Green Yonder
  • Animated Short: Robot Chicken: Star Wars 2.5
  • Animated TV Commercial: Spanish Lottery "Deportees"
  • Animated TV Production: Prep and Landing
  • Animated TV Production for Children: The Penguins of Madagascar
  • Animated Effects: James Mansfield, The Princess and the Frog
  • Character Animation in TV Production: Phillip To, Monsters vs. Aliens: Mutant Pumpkins from Outer Space 
  • Character Animation in Feature: Eric Goldberg, The Princess and the Frog 
  • Character Design in TV Production: Bill Schwab, Prep and Landing
  • Character Design in Feature: Shane Prigmore, Coraline
  • Directing in TV Production: Bret Haaland, The Penguins of Madagascar "Launchtime"
  • Directing in Feature: Pete Docter, Up
  • Music in TV Production: Guy Moon, The Fairly OddParents: "Wishology-The Big Beginning"
  • Music in Feature: Bruno Coulais, Coraline
  • Production Design in TV Production: Andy Harkness, Prep and Landing
  • Production Design in Feature: Tadahiro Uesugi, Coraline
  • Storyboarding in TV: Robert Koo, Merry Madagascar 
  • Storyboarding in Feature: Tom Owens, Monsters vs. Aliens
  • Voiceacting in TV: Tom Kenny as SpongeBob, SpongeBob SquarePants
  • Voiceacting in Feature: Jen Cody as Charlotte, The Princess and the Frog 
  • Writing in TV Production: Daniel Chun, The Simpsons: Treehouse of Horror XX 
  • Writing in Feature: Wes Anderson and Noah Baumbach, Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • Winsor McCay Award: Tim Burton, Bruce Timm, Jeffrey Katzenberg
  • June Foray: Tom Sito
  • Ub Iwerks Award: William T. Reeves
  • Special Achievement: Martin Meunier and Brian McLean
  • Certificate of Merit: Myles Mikulic, Danny Young and Michael Woodside


Catch up on everything you need to know about awards season here.


  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.