At least we know Earle Hagen was perfectly capable of whistling a happy tune.

The creator of the instantly recognizable themes for The Andy Griffith Show and The Dick Van Dyke Show, died Monday at his home in Rancho Mirage, Calif. He was 88.

His wife, Laura, said he had been in poor health for several months.

Hagen, whose whistling can be heard as Sheriff Andy Taylor and his son Opie make their way to their favorite Mayberry fishing spot during Griffith's opening credits, composed original music for thousands of TV episodes, pilots and movies, including the theme songs for That Girl, Gomer Pyle, U.S.M.C, The Mod Squad and I Spy.

He and cowriter Lionel Newman also earned an Academy Award nomination for Best Musical Score for their work on the 1960 Marilyn Monroe comedy Let's Make Love.

"The music just flowed from him, and he would take off one hat and put on another and go on to the next show," Laura Hagen said.

Listen to that signature whistle after the jump:

Andy Griffith Show - TV Themes
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share

We and our partners use cookies on this site to improve our service, perform analytics, personalize advertising, measure advertising performance, and remember website preferences. By using the site, you consent to these cookies. For more information on cookies including how to manage your consent visit our Cookie Policy.