Brie Larson, Golden Globe Awards, Winner

Paul Drinkwater/NBCUniversal via Getty Images

Congrats, Brie Larson! The actress took home the Golden Globe for her role as Joy Newsome in the drama film Room. Nominees for the award included Saoirse Ronan for her role as Eilis Lacey in BrooklynCate Blanchette for her role as Carol Aird in Carol, Rooney Mara for her role as Therese Belivet in Carol and Alicia Vikander as Gerda Wegener for The Danish Girl.Eddie Redmayne presented the award to Larson, who stunned in a glittering, gold gown on stage. "This movie means so much to me," Larson gushed during her acceptance speech. Larson also thanked Room co-star Jacob Tremblay as he looked on lovingly from the crowd. The actress ended her speech saying, "I'm sorry to anyone I forgot. I'll write you a thank you card."

Last year's winner was Julianne Moore for her role in Still Alice. Moore beat out fellow 2015 nominees Jennifer Aniston in CakeFelicity Jones in The Theory of EverythingRosamund Pike in Gone Girl and Reese Witherspoon in Wild. Moore expressed regret for her acceptance speech saying to HuffPost, "I wish I had taken a deep breath and managed to get Kristen [Stewart]'s name out, for one thing, and Alec [Baldwin]'s." "Slowing down, I think, is the message." She went on to say "I didn't stand up straight…As I walked up to the stage, I was all hunched over." We think both Moore and Larson slayed it, just saying! 

Are you excited by Brie's win? Sound off in the comments! 

E! kicks off 2016 Golden Globes After Party! 

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share