• News/ 

    2014 Independent Spirit Awards: 12 Years a Slave Takes Home Best Feature, Plus More Big Winners!

    • Share
    • Tweet
    • Share
    • <> Embed
    Cate Blanchett
    Cate Blanchett Randall Michelson/WireImage

    Before the stars hit the Oscars red carpet Sunday, Lupita Nyong'o, Cate Blanchett and more stars braved the rain to attend the more relaxed Independent Spirit Awards Saturday in Santa Monica, Calif.

    And they saw 12 Years a Slave steal the show.

    The slave drama won big, taking home five awards, including best feature, best director for Steve McQueen, best supporting actress for Nyong'o and best cinematography…and it wasn't the only big winner of the night.

    Although Dallas Buyers Club didn't nab the best feature nod, the film's stars Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto took home awards for best actor and best supporting actor, respectively.

    Cate Blanchett, meanwhile, nabbed best actress for Blue Jasmine.

    Take a look at the rest of the big winners at the 2014 Independent Spirit Awards!

    NEWS: Paula Patton Makes First Red Carpet Appearance Post Robin Thicke Split at Independent Spirit Awards

    Lupita Nyong'O Randall Michelson/WireImage

    Best Feature: 12 Years a Slave

    Best Director: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

    Best Screenplay: Bob Nelson, Nebraska

    Best First Feature: Fruitvale Station

    Best First Screenplay: Bob Nelson, Nebraska

    John Cassavetes Award: This Is Martin Bonner

    Best Female Lead: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

    Best Male Lead: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

    Best Supporting Female: Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave

    NEWS: Check out the nominees for this year's Independent Spirit Awards!

    Jared Leto Randall Michelson/WireImage

    Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

    Best Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years a Slave

    Best Documentary: 20 Feet from Stardom

    Best International Film: Blue Is the Warmest Color

    Robert Altman Award: Mud

    Piaget Producers Award: Toby Halbrooks and James M. Johnston

    Someone to Watch Award: Shaka King, Newlyweeds

    Truer than Fiction Award: Jason Osder, Let the Fire Burn

    • Share
    • Tweet
    • Share
    • <> Embed

    PHOTOS: Check out the stars that rocked the carpet at the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards



    Most Read
    Victoria's Secret photoshop fail
    New Pics
    Red Carpet Official