• News/ 

    2013 Independent Spirit Awards Winners: Silver Linings Playbook Goes for the Gold!

    • Share
    • Tweet
    • Share
    • <> Embed
    Jennifer Lawrence, Jeremy Renner
    Jennifer Lawrence, Jeremy Renner Kevin Mazur/WireImage

    The stately Oscars will have to wait another day because the weekend's most fun-tastic awards show is front and center today.

    The 28th annual Independent Spirit Awards gala, hosted by funnyman Andy Samberg, was held on Santa Monica beach Saturday, honoring the best of independent filmmakers.

    Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper's Silver Linings Playbook stood out, snagging Best Feature, Best Director, Screenplay and Female Lead. We'll have more glitz and glam and behind the scenes scoop from the Spirit Awards shortly, but for now let's take a look at all the winners:

    Check out the presenters from the Independent awards here!

    Best Feature: Silver Linings Playbook—Producers: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon

    Best Director: David O. RussellSilver Linings Playbook

    Best Screenplay: David O. Russell—Silver Linings Playbook

    Best First Feature: The Perks of Being a Wallfower—Director: Stephen Chbosky; Producers: Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith

    Best First Screenplay: Derek Connolly—Safety Not Guaranteed

    John Cassavetes Award: Middle of Nowhere—Writer/Director/Producer: Ava DuVernay; Producers: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes

    Best Female Lead: Jennifer Lawrence—Silver Linings Playbook

    Best Male Lead: John HawkesThe Sessions

    See party pics from this weekend's Oscar bashes!

    Best Supporting Female: Helen Hunt—The Sessions

    Best Supporting Male: Matthew McConaughey—Magic Mike

    Best Cinematorgarphy: Ben Richardson—Beasts of the Southern Wild

    Best Documentary: The Invisible War—Director: Kirby Dick; Producers: Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering

    Best International Film: Amour—Director: Michael Haneke 

    Piaget Producers Award: Stones in the Sun—Producer: Mynette Louie

    Someone to Watch Award: Gimme the Loot—Director: Adam Leon

    Robert Altman Award: Starlet—Director: Sean Baker; Casting Director: Julia Kim; Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone

    • Share
    • Tweet
    • Share
    • <> Embed

    Get prepped for tomorrow's Oscars by scoping out these notable nominees!



    Most Read
    Paula Deen, Louis Van Amstel
    New Pics
    London Lovebirds