Glee, Scene

Carin Baer/Fox

Glee sang and danced its way into the hearts of America—and into the hearts of GLAAD.

The hit FOX show was named Outstanding Comedy Series by the Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation last night in Los Angeles. Many of the show's stars were on hand to accept the award, including Ryan Murphy, Jane Lynch, Chris Colfer, Dianna Agron, Jessalyn Gilsig, Jayma Mays, Kevin McHale, Amber Riley, Mark Salling and Jenna Ushkowitz.

A Single Man, starring Colin Firth and Julianne Moore, won for Outstanding Film while RuPaul's Drag Race was named Outstanding Reality Program.

The 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards honors progressive portrayals of LGBT characters and treatment of relevant issues in TV, film, theater and journalism.

GLAAD also honored Drew Barrymore with the Vanguard Award for her efforts in promoting equal rights, while Wanda Sykes was given the Stephen F. Kolzak Award, which recognizes an openly gay media professional working to eliminate homophobia.

Awards were also handed out in March in New York and the final ceremony will be held in June in San Francisco.

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Share