Leave it to Facebook to roll out yet another change. Sure the last few updates haven't been so bad, but this one will make your eyes roll into the back of your brain. The social site has been notifying (and annoying) users like the one TechCrunch found below, with the news that they might soon find their auto-synced photos deleted. Um, what? Apparently, it's being done to get users to download Facebook's Moments.
The apps site posted the warning, "Photos you privately synced from your phone to Facebook will be deleted soon. Earlier this year, they were moved to Moments, a new app from Facebook. The Moments app lets you organize and privately share photos from your phone, and download or delete photos you've synced to Facebook. Moments is available for download in the App Store and the Google Play Store."
dang i didnt even know facebook privately synced TWELVE THOUSAND of my photos now they tryna delete them wow pic.twitter.com/Ii1fupbHQ7— a.m. ?.?.:* (@aurevoiralexis) June 9, 2016
In other words, your synced Facebook pics are all on Moments, and all you need to do to save them from deletion is download their app.
The post went on to note that you have until July 7 to save your snaps. If you don't want to clog your screen with yet another Facebook app (*cough* Messenger), don't worry. You also have the option to download your selfies, belfies and more onto your computer.
Just to be clear, all of your precious photos will not be deleted if you don't take action, just the photos inside the "Synced" or "Synched from Phone" albums, TechCrunch says. It all sounds like a huge time-wasting hassle to us, but if you're among those who have thousands of synced photos, you may want to consider the download. Happy app-ing, friends.
Ariana Grande takes down sexist hater on Facebook